Experimenting with pasta and artichokes

Bucatini pasta with sliced artichokes and prosciutto

The artichokes in the market Saturday inspired me to try a dish that Christina said was a traditional pasta from Lazio. I sliced artichokes and their stems thinly (squeezing lemon juice over them as I did, as they discolor quickly) and sauteed them in a pan with olive oil and garlic. The artichokes are very tender so I didn’t have to pull out the chokes. I should have removed more of the outer leaves however, as they were too chewy. I added a little water after sauteeing and put the lid on, so the stems and leaves would soften.

Just before serving I added some thinly sliced strips of prosciutto for color and flavor (not from the traditional recipe) and a few shakes of red pepper flakes. For pasta, I used bucatini, a long thick spaghetti like pasta that has a hole down the center. Very satisfying to bite and a good complement for the artichokes. My husband and I enjoyed the meal very much.

2 responses to “Experimenting with pasta and artichokes

  1. Great recipe, I have some artichokes and some ham so will try it- tho with linguine. Sounds yummy

Leave a Reply

